Genealogy Resources for Genesee County, New York

Pin it

Genesee County was formed from part of Ontario County in 1802. The following counties were formed from Genesee County: Allegany County (1806), Cattaraugus County (1808), Chautauqua County (1808), Niagara County (1808), part of Livingston County (1821), part of Monroe County (1821), Orleans County (1824), and Wyoming County (1841). The County Seat is Batavia.

Genesee County encompasses approximately 494 square miles* in the State of New York.

New York

Share your tips, resources, or comments!



State Capital: 

State Established:


Jul 26, 1788

My blogs about Genesee County


Sign up or log in to save this page to your Site Favorites.

SITE INDEX may earn an Affiliate Commission for purchases made through recommended links or ads on this page. © 2021 Privacy Policy.