Genealogy Resources for Cortland County, New York

Pin it

Cortland County was formed from the southern part of Onondaga County on April 8, 1808 and included only Virgil, Cincinnatus, Homer, Solon, and the southern half of Tully and Fabius, with additional divisions made to these towns later. The County Seat is Cortland.

Cortland County encompasses approximately 500 square miles* in the State of New York.

New York

Share your tips, resources, or comments!



State Capital: 

State Established:


Jul 26, 1788

My blogs about Cortland County


Sign up or log in to save this page to your Site Favorites.

SITE INDEX may earn an Affiliate Commission for purchases made through recommended links or ads on this page. © 2019 Privacy Policy.

Help keep up and running for years to come by making a small contribution! Your support is appreciated!