New York's Early Indian Villages and Forts

Updated: Feb 4, 2019

This map shows the Territorial Division claimed or occupied by the Six Nations. The Senecas, Cayugas, Onondagas, Tuscaroras, Oneidas, and Mohawks.

This early New York map shows the locations of the following tribes: Oghwaga (Onaquaga), Cunahunta, Cukooes, and Unadille (Unadilla) tribes. Also Tioga Point, Owego, Oswego, Harpersfield, Middleburgh, Cobleskill, Schoharie, Sharon Center, Cherry Valley, Canajoharie, Springfield, Stone Arabia, Fort Hunter, Fort Plain, Schenectady, Albany, German Flatts, Little Falls, Fort Herkimer, Minisink, and Goshen.

Source: "New York's Part in History", by Sherman Williams, 1915.

Click here for more New York genealogy resources.

#maps #NewYork #NativeAmerican #Indians #territory #historicmaps


Related Posts

See All
If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting my work.

Sign up or log in to save this page to your Site Favorites.

SITE INDEX may earn an Affiliate Commission for purchases made through recommended links or ads on this page. © 2019 Privacy Policy.

Help keep up and running for years to come by making a small contribution! Your support is appreciated!