The Annals of Albany (10 Volumes)

It was the year 1624 when the first Dutch settlers began to arrive in New York, settling along the Hudson River. They established what they called "The Colony of New Amsterdam" on Manhattan Island in 1626, but in 1664 the English seized control of the colony and changed the name to New York. Counties were established in 1683, of which Albany County was the largest. It wasn't until 1788, twelve years after America won it's independence from Great Britain, that New York was officially established as a U.S. State. The County Seat is Albany.

Albany County originally encompassed most of central and western New York. The following counties were formed from Albany County and most were later sub-divided:

  • Washington County (1772)

  • part of Montgomery County (1772)

  • Charlotte County (1772, renamed Washington in 1784)

  • Tryon County (1772, renamed Montgomery in 1784)

  • Columbia County (1786)

  • Rensselaer County (1791)

  • Saratoga County (1791)

  • part of Schoharie County (1795)

  • Schenectady County (1809)

The Annals of Albany by Joel Munsell contains a wealth of information about Albany County, New York. Church records, historic events, illustrations, portraits, and much more! Choose a volume to read or search for free at

Volume 1 [Link] Volume 6 [Link]

Volume 2 [Link] Volume 7 [Link]

Volume 3 [Link] Volume 8 [Link]

Volume 4 [Link] Volume 9 [Link]

Volume 5 [Link] Volume 10 [Link]

Click here for more genealogy resources.

Click here for more New York genealogy resources.

Click here for more Albany County resources including a list of towns.

#albanycounty #albany #newyork #resources #genealogy

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting my work.

Sign up or log in to save this page to your Site Favorites.

SITE INDEX may earn an Affiliate Commission for purchases made through recommended links or ads on this page. © 2019 Privacy Policy.

Help keep up and running for years to come by making a small contribution! Your support is appreciated!